Scammers At It and I Almost FellšŸ˜«

Have you seen or heard of those scenarios where you’re fully confident- and can even beat your chest that ” nah, I can never fall for that,” “can never be me.”
Oh well, I had one of such moments recently and could hardly believe it was about to be yours truly.

I got a whatsapp message from a senior colleague I worked with during housejob. We exchanged pleasantries, only for him to start telling me how he was trying to send money to someone but had network problems and it was urgent. If I could help.

First, I was surprised when he messaged me because we don’t chat normally. Next, him asking for help was a bit worrisome. Why me of all people? After some time, I thought of how kind he was to me so the least I could do was help. (Nice people problemsšŸ¤£)

This wouldn’t have been a very big problem (would have still been a problem sha) but a dear friend had given me some money to keep for the time being. I didn’t have enough money of my own but was calculating how to use this friend’s money then replace when my supposed senior colleague paid back.

Dunno what made me just tell a friend what was going on that’s when he made the comment to not send, it could be scam. I felt so dumb for like 5 seconds šŸ¤£. How on earth could I not decipher this? I mean with all my brain and smartnessšŸ˜Œ.

Next thing, the whatspp group for resident doctors of the teaching hospital I did my housejob was booming. Tons and tons of screenshots and messages on how an account there had been hacked, that no one should fall for it. Apparently a handful of persons had fallen for it. (Thinking about it, if I was a victim, I would have kept mute)

These thieves are getting smarter by the day. We learn everyday.
If anyone you know texts you for money via phone, even if it’s your close friend or family, call them first to confirm before sending anything. No one will have to tell me this again.

Shared a previous scam experience  some time ago here. I fell for this one sha but the hit wasn’t major.

Kindly follow the blog to get new posts promptly.

Thank you for your time,

Gracelynā¤

Published by Gracelyn

Scribe for the Lord. Author| Writer

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started